Bail Bonds

Being arrested can be a traumatic experience. Abe Factor can make your bond so that you can concentrate on your defense, instead of worrying about contracting with a bondsman after you’ve been arrested.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.01.

Definition of ”Bail”

”Bail” is the security given by the accused that he will appear and answer before the proper court the accusation brought against him, and includes a bail bond or a personal bond.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.02.

Definition of ”Bail Bond”

A ”bail bond” is a written undertaking entered into by the defendant and his sureties for the appearance of the principal therein before some court or magistrate to answer a criminal accusation; provided, however, that the defendant upon execution of such bail bond may deposit with the custodian of funds of the court in which the prosecution is pending current money of the United States in the amount of the bond in lieu of having sureties signing the same. Any cash funds deposited under this Article shall be receipted for by the officer receiving the same and shall be refunded to the defendant if and when the defendant complies with the conditions of his bond, and upon order of the court.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.033.
Release on Bond of Certain Persons Arrested Without a Warrant

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (c), a person who is arrested without a warrant and who is detained in jail must be released on bond, in an amount not to exceed $5,000, not later than the 24th hour after the person’s arrest if the person was arrested for a misdemeanor and a magistrate has not determined whether probable cause exists to believe that the person committed the offense. If the person is unable to obtain a surety for the bond or unable to deposit money in the amount of the bond, the person must be released on personal bond.

(b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), a person who is arrested without a warrant and who is detained in jail must be released on bond, in an amount not to exceed $10,000, not later than the 48th hour after the person’s arrest if the person was arrested for a felony and a magistrate has not determined whether probable cause exists to believe that the person committed the offense. If the person is unable to obtain a surety for the bond or unable to deposit money in the amount of the bond, the person must be released on personal bond.

(c) On the filing of an application by the attorney representing the state, a magistrate may postpone the release of a person under Subsection (a) or (b) for not more than 72 hours after the person’s arrest. An application filed under this subsection must state the reason a magistrate has not determined whether probable cause exists to believe that the person committed the offense for which the person was arrested.

(d) The time limits imposed by Subsections (a) and (b) do not apply to a person arrested without a warrant who is taken to a hospital, clinic, or other medical facility before being taken before a magistrate under Article 15.17. For a person described by this subsection, the time limits imposed by Subsections (a) and (b) begin to run at the time, as documented in the records of the hospital, clinic, or other medical facility, that a physician or other medical professional releases the person from the hospital, clinic, or other medical facility.
Added by Acts 2001, 77th Leg., ch. 906, Sec. 5(a), eff. Jan. 1, 2002. Subsec. (d) added by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 298, Sec. 1, eff. June 18, 2003.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.05. [270] [318] [306] When a Bail Bond is Given

A bail bond is entered into either before a magistrate, upon an examination of a criminal accusation, or before a judge upon an application under habeas corpus; or it is taken from the defendant by a peace officer if authorized by Article 17.20, 17.21, or 17.22.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722. Amended by Acts 1971, 62nd Leg., p. 3045, ch. 1006, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1971

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.08. [273] [321] [309] Requisites of a Bail Bond

A bail bond must contain the following requisites

1. That it be made payable to ”The State of Texas”;

2. That the defendant and his sureties, if any, bind themselves that the defendant will appear before the proper court or magistrate to answer the accusation against him;

3. If the defendant is charged with a felony, that it state that he is charged with a felony. If the defendant is charged with a misdemeanor, that it state that he is charged with a misdemeanor;

4. That the bond be signed by name or mark by the principal and sureties, if any, each of whom shall write thereon his mailing address;

5. That the bond state the time and place, when and where the accused binds himself to appear, and the court or magistrate before whom he is to appear. The bond shall also bind the defendant to appear before any court or magistrate before whom the cause may thereafter be pending at any time when, and place where, his presence may be required under this Code or by any court or magistrate, but in no event shall the sureties be bound after such time as the defendant receives an order of deferred adjudication or is acquitted, sentenced, placed on community supervision, or dismissed from the charge;

6. The bond shall also be conditioned that the principal and sureties, if any, will pay all necessary and reasonable expenses incurred by any and all sheriffs or other peace officers in rearresting the principal in the event he fails to appear before the court or magistrate named in the bond at the time stated therein. The amount of such expense shall be in addition to the principal amount specified in the bond. The failure of any bail bond to contain the conditions specified in this paragraph shall in no manner affect the legality of any such bond, but it is intended that
the sheriff or other peace officer shall look to the defendant and his sureties, if any, for expenses incurred by him, and not to the State for any fees earned by him in connection with the rearresting of an accused who has violated the conditions of his bond.
Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722. Amended by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 1506, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1999.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.15. [281] [329] [317] Rules for Fixing Amount of Bail

The amount of bail to be required in any case is to be regulated by the court, judge, magistrate or officer taking the bail; they are to be governed in the exercise of this discretion by the Constitution and by the following rules:

1. The bail shall be sufficiently high to give reasonable assurance that the undertaking will be complied with.

2. The power to require bail is not to be so used as to make it an instrument of oppression.

3. The nature of the offense and the circumstances under which it was committed are to be considered.

4. The ability to make bail is to be regarded, and proof may be taken upon this point.

5. The future safety of a victim of the alleged offense and the community shall be considered.
Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722. Amended by Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 588, Sec. 2, eff. Sept. 1, 1985; Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 396, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1993.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.151.
Release Because of Delay

Sec. 1. A defendant who is detained in jail pending trial of an accusation against him must be released either on personal bond or by reducing the amount of bail required, if the state is not ready for trial of the criminal action for which he is being detained within:

(1) 90 days from the commencement of his detention if he is accused of a felony;

(2) 30 days from the commencement of his detention if he is accused of a misdemeanor punishable by a sentence of imprisonment in jail for more than 180 days;

(3) 15 days from the commencement of his detention if he is accused of a misdemeanor punishable by a sentence of imprisonment for 180 days or less; or

(4) five days from the commencement of his detention if he is accused of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine only.

Sec. 2. The provisions of this article do not apply to a defendant who is:

(1) serving a sentence of imprisonment for another offense while he is serving that sentence;

(2) being detained pending trial of another accusation against him as to which the applicable period has not yet elapsed; or

(3) incompetent to stand trial, during the period of his incompetence.

Sec. 3. If a person released under this article is arrested and detained for a violation of the conditions of his release, the time for release under Section 1 of this article begins to run on the date of the arrest for violation of conditions of the release.
Added by Acts 1977, 65th Leg., p. 1972, ch. 787, Sec. 2, eff. July 1, 1978.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.20. [286] [336] [324] Bail in Misdemeanor

The sheriff, or other peace officer, in cases of misdemeanor, may, whether during the term of the court or in vacation, where he has a defendant in custody, take of the defendant a bail bond.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722. Amended by Acts 1971, 62nd Leg., p. 3046, ch. 1006, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 30, 1971.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.21. [287] [337] [325] Bail in Felony

In cases of felony, when the accused is in custody of the sheriff or other peace officer, and the court before which the prosecution is pending is in session in the county where the accused is in custody, the court shall fix the amount of bail, if it is a bailable case and determine if the accused is eligible for a personal bond; and the sheriff, or other peace officer, unless it be the police of a city, is authorized to take a bail bond of the accused in the amount as fixed by the court, to be approved by such officer taking the same, and will thereupon discharge the accused from custody. It shall not be necessary for the defendant or his sureties to appear in court.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.22. [288] [338] [326] May Take Bail in Felony

In a felony case, if the court before which the same is pending is not in session in the county where the defendant is in custody, the sheriff, or other peace officer having him in custody, may take his bail bond in such amount as may have been fixed by the court or magistrate, or if no amount has been fixed, then in such amount as such officer may consider reasonable.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.26. [292] [343] [331] Time Given to Procure Bail

Reasonable time shall be given the accused to procure security.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.29. [295] [346] [334] Accused Liberated

(a) When the accused has given the required bond, either to the magistrate or the officer having him in custody, he shall at once be set at liberty.

(b) Before releasing on bail a person arrested for an offense under Section 42.072, Penal Code, or a person arrested or held without warrant in the prevention of family violence, the law enforcement agency holding the person shall make a reasonable attempt to give personal notice of the imminent release to the victim of the alleged
offense or to another person designated by the victim to receive the notice. An attempt by an agency to give notice to the victim or the person designated by the victim at the victim’s or person’s last known telephone number or address, as shown on the records of the agency, constitutes a reasonable attempt to give notice under this subsection. If possible, the arresting officer shall collect the address and telephone number of the victim at the time the arrest is made and shall communicate that information to the agency holding the person.

(c) A law enforcement agency or an employee of a law enforcement agency is not liable for damages arising from complying or failing to comply with Subsection (b) of this article.

(d) In this article, ”family violence” has the meaning assigned by Section 71.004, Family Code.

Acts 1965, 59th Leg., vol. 2, p. 317, ch. 722. Amended by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 656, Sec. 1, eff. June 14, 1995; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 661, Sec. 1, eff. Aug. 28, 1995; Subsec. (b) amended by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1, Sec. 3, eff. Jan. 28, 1997; Subsec. (d) amended by Acts 2003, 78th Leg., ch. 1276, Sec. 7.002(e), eff. Sept. 1, 2003.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 17.441.
Conditions Requiring Motor Vehicle Ignition Interlock

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (b), a magistrate shall require on release that a defendant charged with a subsequent offense under Sections 49.04-49.06, Penal Code, or an offense under Section 49.07 or 49.08 of that code:

(1) have installed on the motor vehicle owned by the defendant or on the vehicle most regularly driven by the defendant, a device that uses a deep-lung breath analysis mechanism to make impractical the operation of a motor vehicle if ethyl alcohol is detected in the breath of the operator; and

(2) not operate any motor vehicle unless the vehicle is equipped with that device.

(b) The magistrate may not require the installation of the device if the magistrate finds that to require the device would not be in the best interest of justice.

(c) If the defendant is required to have the device installed, the magistrate shall require that the defendant have the device installed on the appropriate motor vehicle, at the defendant’s expense, before the 30th day after the date the defendant is released on bond.

(d) The magistrate may designate an appropriate agency to verify the installation of the device and to monitor the device. If the magistrate designates an agency under this subsection, in each month during which the agency verifies the installation of the device or provides a monitoring service the defendant shall pay a fee to the designated agency in the amount set by the magistrate. The defendant shall pay the initial fee at the time the agency verifies the installation of the device. In each subsequent month during which the defendant is required to pay a fee the defendant shall pay the fee on the first occasion in that month that the agency provides a monitoring service. The magistrate shall set the fee in an amount not to exceed $10 as determined by the county auditor, or by the commissioners court of the county if the county does not have a county auditor, to be sufficient to cover the cost incurred by the designated agency in conducting the verification or providing the monitoring service, as applicable in that county.

Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 318, Sec. 45, eff. Sept. 1, 1995. Subsec. (d) amended by Acts 1999, 76th Leg., ch. 537, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1999.

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/statutes/cr.toc.htm